Nigeria wins 2018 AWCON

Share this storyShare on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Super Falcons of Nigeria has won the 2018 African Women Cup of Nations after beating the Bayana Bayana of South Africa 4 – 3 on penalties 

Both played out a thrilling 0-0 draw after extra-time with some scoring chances created by the two teams but struggling to find the back of the net.

The Super Falcons recovered from the first miss to convert the remaining four while Banyana Banyana went on to miss three more to give Nigeria a record extending 11th African title.

Reigning African Footballer of the Year Assisat Oshoala missed a second half penalty by miscuing her kick which was shocking.

Striker Chrestinah Kgatlana made a promising with a solo run and dribbled past Osinachi Ohale but she shot feebly into the goalie's hands.

Banyana Banyana also came close to scoring but goalkeeper Oluehi parried Mamelo Makhabane's free-kick out.

Ghana | | Ishmael Atiemo