Justice Dery, 2 others removed as Justices of the High Court

Share this storyShare on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

The President of the Republic of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has removed three High Court Judges from Office.

Mr. Justice Ayisi Addo, Mr. Justice Uuter Paul Dery, and Mr. Justice Mustapha Habib Logoh have been from office as Justices of the High Court.

The removal of these Justices, was revealed in a statement signed by the Director of Communications at the Office of the President, Eugene Arhin.

According to the statement, the action was taken  after the Committee established by the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Akuffo, pursuant to Article 146(4) of the Constitution, to investigate a complaint lodged against the three judges by Mr. Anas Aremeyaw Anas, recommended their removal from office.

The President, in accordance with the provisions of Article 146(9) of the Constitution, has acted on the recommendations of the Committee, as the Constitution enjoins him to do, and has, accordingly, removed the three Justices of the High Court from office on the grounds of bribery and corruption.

"The Committee concluded that the conduct of the Justices amounted to a criminal offence under the Criminal Offences Act, 1960, (Act 29) (as amended)", the satement said.

President Akufo-Addo has, thus, directed that a copy of the Committee's report be submitted to the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) of the Ghana Police Service for the requisite action to be taken.


Ghana | Atinkaonline.com | Vivian Adu Botemaa