Ayawaso by-election: Lydia Seyram Alhassan retains seat for NPP

Share this storyShare on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn


Lydia Seyram Alhassan, wife of deceased MP Kyeremanten Agyarko has been elected Member of Parliament for Ayawaso West Wuogon.

Ayawaso West Wuogon held its by-election today.This exercise is to elect a new Member of Parliament to replace the late NPP’s Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko who passed on in November 2018.

New Patriotic Party (NPP), National Democratic Congress (NDC), Progressive People’s Party (PPP) and the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG)  presented candidates to contest the seat.

The candidates were Lydia Seyram Alhassan, NPP; Kwasi Delali Brempong, NDC; William Dowokpor, PPP, and Clement Boadi for the LPG.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) candidate   pulled out of the elections after acts of violence were reported at the La-Bawalashie polling station.


official election results are as follows: 


Candidate  Votes   Obtained  Percentage (%)


Delali Brempong   5341                 30.52


William Doworkpor 102 0.              58


Clement Boadi          17                  0.10


Lydia Alhassan.      12,041             68.80


Total Valid Votes 17,501


Total Rejected votes 88


Votes cast 17,589


Total registered voters 88,710


Total % Turnout 1,983


Polling centres 137

Ghana | Atinkaonline.com